My Firewall

Written by Michael Cole - June 7th 2015

This is the story of how I switched my main house firewall to OpenBSD. I'm still in the transition phase in switching over more and more of my systems to various BSD operating systems. The firewall is the only one I have completed.

Maybe in a future post I will post some motivating factors for switching from Linux to BSD, but this is not that post.

So to give background, I've been using Linux since about 1995. I have setup very simple host firewalls and more complex firewalls as well. This has been both for personal use and professionally. I moved from ipfwadmin to ipchains to iptables. I never managed to use nftables.

At first when I wanted to switch to BSD, I wanted to use one version. I thought that it would be overly complicated to use multiple BSD operating systems. So I basically looked at the different types of BSDs. I decided that FreeBSD would be best for general use. Coming from Linux and Debian being my favorite pkgng looked apt-get like, jails looked cool and two main areas that OpenBSD seemed lacking were Volume Management and Virtualization.

I didn't want down time for my house so I installed FreeBSD onto a removable drive and would configure it late at night. Then I could remove it and go back to my working Linux setup until I was sure it was right.

At work we were changing around our work areas and had to clean up a bit (I'm not going into any details about my actual work, but this is important to the story). As part of that move a co-worker was trying to clean up some technical books. He was getting his 3rd addition of "The Book of PF" at home, so he gave me his 2nd addition version at work to take home and use. Since I was going to be using FreeBSD the book covered everything I needed. I read it pretty much like a novel from front to back, even though most technical books work better by looking up specific topics as a reference.